top of page

Where is my Teenage Dream?

Updated: Jan 19, 2022

By Ashley Oh


“Mean girls”, “A Cinderella Story” and “High School Musical” are just some of the shows I watched as a kid.

Don’t get me wrong, I love these films with all my heart-I’m sure you did too-it gave me an idea of what to look forward to when I went into my teen years.


Going out every week, attending parties, phone calls with friends, going to a mall without my parents, my own decisions - the freedom I longed for.

Now I’m entering my teen life, but where is the freedom? You know, the one I expected? The one I dreamed of?


I barely go out; I have a phone and the 'freedom' to make my own decisions, but it’s all monitored and controlled by my parents.


I AM EXPECTED TO BE AN ADULT WHEN I’M TREATED LIKE A CHILD?


Instead of soaring freely, I’m trapped at home, with restrictions.


I thought I was going to explore more of the world at this age; the only thing 'new' I’m experiencing is insecurities, all these new emotions and self-doubt.


The pressure, from everyone, to be perfect is STRESSING ME OUT.


“Amazing grades, good student, good child, good friend” What’s expected from us is hard to achieve.


Who set the bar ever-so high?


Why is it so hard to be who I want to be? I try, but at the end of the day I go to bed feeling stressed about the fact that I’m not good enough.


Some days I want to do everything, and I want to be the best.


Some days I just want to sleep, get on Netflix and hide from everyone.


The harder I try, the more I realize how hard it is, and I just give up.


And when I do, every thing falls apart and people start to judge.


 

Olivia Rodrigo was right, it’s brutal out here.



91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page