top of page

Nice To Meet You

Updated: Nov 14, 2022

I’m here.


I’m actually here.


A year ago, I would have never thought I was capable of doing this. You may be asking: What is this silly person talking about? I’ll tell you.


I’m going on a date!


But I’m not going on a date with just anyone; I’m going with someone special! James O’Brien. I met him through a dating app and have been chatting with him since. We text all day long; chat with each other through the depths of the night. We’ve always kept things between us very calm, until a few weeks ago … when he asked me out! That’s why I am currently here, waiting for him to show up.



This place seems very romantic for a date. All customers seem like couples, everyone seems to be in their late-20s to mid-40s. There’s a live jazz band playing sweet music. There is an overpowering whiff of cinnamon and essential oils. The restaurant is covered with branches of pretty leaves, not too sure if they’re fake or not, but they are gorgeous with the fairy lights that hang all around.


While I was admiring the scenery, A tall, well-dressed, muscular, and dashingly attractive man entered the waiting lounge. I stare at him in awe.


Breathtaking. A Greek God was in front of my eyes.


All of a sudden, he turns to my direction. He looks at me. As if he is looking for me. I might’ve been in a bit of a shock, but I played it cool and looked away. I am here for a date. I had to look away. What if all I can think about for the rest of the date was that living proof of perfection?


He wanders around as if he’s looking for something before giving up and taking a seat on one of the lounge chairs. He shuffles through his pockets and takes out his phone before looking through it. I’m still staring at him like some lost, hungry puppy when I notice my phone starting to buzz. I take my momentary glance away from prince charming to check what’s up with my phone.


“Hey, are you here yet? I am! 😊” James has texted me.


“Oh! I am. I don’t see you though,” I reply. I look around and I can’t find my date. Am I in the wrong restaurant or something?


“Oh! I think I see you. Just to be sure though; are you wearing a beige silk dress with heels?”


“Oh, yeah, I am!” I reply while checking my surroundings to see if he is there.

“Stay there, I’ll come to you.” I give his message a thumbs up and wait.


Suddenly, that Greek God gets up and starts to walk over to me? I don't think much of it. He then stands in front of me and says, “Hello there. You look divine. Even more beautiful now that I’ve seen you up close.”


“Thank you. That’s very kind of you. May I ask who you are?” I say while putting my hand over my mouth, totally trying to cover my face from pinking up..


He puts out his hand for me to shake and says, “It’s James. James O’Brien. You’re … Esther, right? Nice to finally meet you!”

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page