top of page

Me, Missing





A chilly wind blows through the small, old window, feeling fearful to lose a person it relies on. I take a big bite of the bread in hunger inside the now-empty room that am being held prisoner.


I am in middle school, I go to a prestigious school that is located in Manchester. My dad and mum are well-known in the community for their success in business. We live in the gorgeous penthouse of a fancy apartment, have a fantastic driver as well as a personal assistant. To be honest, I can get anything I want in my entire life. During school, there is nobody who does not know me.


***

25th of September, 2016.


It was rainy that day which made me uncomfortable walking in sandals. Trying to ignore the discomfort, I waved to my friends saying “Goodbye!” going down the staircase. It was kind of extraordinary that day: if it was as usual, I had to see Jason (my family’s private driver), and his black vehicle at the picking up area, right in front of the school’s entrance and exit. That was not the only thing, there should have been two, or at least one, teachers who took charge of the students that were waiting to be picked up,.


That day, there was none.


I had decided to take my phone out of my left pocket at the back. As soon as I grasped it, I felt a big, pale hand covering my mouth tightly through the heavy raindrops, giving me no time to shout for help.


I was thrown roughly into a car and my phone snatched away. The big hand that was covering my mouth was quickly replaced with a thick, green cello tape. They also put a blindfold on my eyes. I could hear the engine start and I was driven away.


It was dark. I was shivering badly in fear. I predicted there were at least 2 people in the car, perhaps more. There was a dreadful silence; other than the traffic noise outside, I heard nothing.


The vehicle stopped and once again I was snatch away. Two people held my arms each, and let me sit down on a chair. Both blindfold and a green cello tape were removed.


Three fierce-looking men, covered with scary dragon tattoos in front of me - I squinted in horror. A muscular black guy came closer to me, then put his arm on my shoulder.


“Hello, young lady, I need you to tell your parents that we need 1 million dollars to let you go back to your sweet home,” he said, chewing a piece of bubble gum, smiling unpleasantly.


I sighed, looking down. I was enraged with myself so much, I did not want my parents to spend too much money on me because of this crazy kidnapping, but I wanted to live. I missed my parents’ sweet hug, my cozy bedroom, and a thousand books in the bookshelf so much. I would feel very thankful if I could escape from this horrible situation.


“How do I tell my parents that I am imprisoned here?” I spoke, trying to look brave.


Without a reply, the fat white man brought a camcorder from the dusty drawer at the back of the room.


“I will give you a sign when you have to speak. Just emphasise that we need 1 million dollars,” the man shouted with a deep voice.


I nodded, trying to calm myself down from the loud sound.


The two other men snickered imagining their incoming 1 million dollars from my parents.


Ding - the sound of the camcorder rang, and the thin Asian guy snapped, staring at me.


“Mum and dad, I miss you so much. I’ve been kidnapped, and the kidnappers want 1 million dollars from you, so that I can come back home. I am so sorry. I love you.” I said, looking at the camcorder, sorrowfully. Tears rolled down my face as I thought of my parents who must have been so worried by now.


The three men stopped recording, satisfied.


A chilly wind blew through the small, old window. I took a big bite of the bread in hunger inside the now-empty room that was being held a prisoner. As I tried to hear what was going on outside, fatigue took over my entire body and I must have passed out.


Weeewooo, weeewooo. I suddenly woke up with the sound of a siren. Looking through the window, I put my arms high up in the air, hoping it was a sound from the police car.


“Mum, and dad!” I sprinted towards them from the arms of the police officer, sobbing as I felt so relieved seeing my wonderful guardians. Hugging me in love, we were all together again. Mum and dad asked me many questions starting from my mental stress, getting harmed, how fearful I was.


I generally thought the love that my parents gave me was an ordinary thing, but it is so invaluable. Taking no risks and living normally are very lucky things that everyone in the world should be grateful for.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page