top of page

The Full Moon

Sam

Thea, Seth and I, where shall I begin?


We all grew up in a small, damp town no one knew of. I wouldn’t be surprised if you didn’t. Our moms were all the best of friends, which of course birthed the cliché trend of passing on the friendship. We were quite popular if I say so myself, better known as the ‘Wolf Trio’. Custom to tradition, once a year we would venture deep into the forests surrounding us, competing for just the glory - the glory of finding a mega paw print.

What could you expect from a small town such as ours? A boring life? Jam packed with adventure? The answer was all of that and much more. On averagely damp days, our parents would light bonfires. Thea being Thea begged for the same old stories to be told. Our families were supposedly of ‘magical blood’, or that was what we had been told. All our lives, we were buried in the ever-lasting legends and folklore of werewolves and the supernatural. But, of course, we all know it is just a legend. Right?


Ever since I could remember, us along with our parents, would go into the mysterious landscape. Never too deep, until a few years ago when they decided we were ‘responsible enough’. They never knew. Finally, after 15 years of unlucky barren years, we disobeyed our old folk. We picked a quiet twilight, you could see twenty feet ahead. And the full glowing, glistening full moon of light above our heads. Come to think of it, it was never ever like this. Never as pretty…


Our mammoth boots crunched the crispy leaves beneath our feet, especially solemn Seth. He had never favoured this life, always preferring to stay in the comfort of a light and family. Shivers ran down his spine every time Thea rambled of the legends. We never understood it, but he did. He used to mumble, every single time, “ What if there is such a thing? What if it is waiting for us, waiting to strike?”. What if. What if. What if. It’s just what if! Just a possibility.


Reaching the depths of the forest, the oak circled us at every foot. Nowhere to run, nowhere to hide. All of a sudden a scream rang throughout the forest, bouncing off the oak. A scream. Another scream. And yet, another. I heard a tiny squeal escape the tightly sealed passageways of Seth's lips. I also heard Thea hit him on the back, Thea oh Thea. Moments later, a howl traveled through the gaps of the tightly knitted forest. It resonated throughout. “Stay behind me, don’t move.” I ushered to them. Reluctantly, they did. I knew they did not want to. Neither did I. The second howl came, and another, and another, safe to say it definitely was not the last. I lost count, my head was a broken record player, replaying and replaying…..

*Grrrr*


To my left, I felt a strange vibration and an indescribable warmth. Burning hot. A low and feral inhumane snarl threw be aback. I couldn’t. I snapped. Stupidly, I whipped my head around as fast as I could, running the other way. That was the wrong decision. These mutts, three times as large as wolves, four times their strength and five times the number. They took me on like a tiger to a boar.



I took a glance back. BAAM! I smacked myself into a tree. I could hear Thea screaming at the top of her lungs, “SAM, WHERE ARE YOU. SAM. SAM!”. The only thing I could say was “Run Thea, run. Seth was right.” as I curled into the base of the tree.


Blood was filling my mouth, blinding my eyes. Wiping the thick, hot blood off my face, I trembled as my gaze steadily focused onto the beast before me. “No, please, n-”, I suddenly broke off. My face knew no more emotion. I was struck, why had I seen my father? My father's eyes?

334 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Tan Yi Shien
Tan Yi Shien
Jun 24, 2020

I really liked the plot of your story, it made me feel like I was in a tv show! Your descriptions were really vivid and it made me picture the scenes very clearly in my head. Looking forward to a sequel if you ever decide to write one !! ;)

Like

Unknown member
Jun 24, 2020

Campfires and werewolves? Hell yeah! The tale of The Full Moon was indeed spellbinding, and especially your cliffhanger kept me on the edge of my seat! I seriously need a sequel asap! Can't wait to hear more from you.

Like

Unknown member
Jun 22, 2020

This was so well written! It was extremely immersive and I was able to easily empathise with the narrative point of view, due to your brilliant descriptions. Keep up the good work; you have so much potential!

Like

Shazana Shajahan
Shazana Shajahan
Jun 22, 2020

Really gripping storyline! Imagery was spectacular and the tension seized me. I can't wait to read what happens next! Looking forward to it :)

Like
bottom of page