top of page

Pride and Prejudice: Book or Movie? Which is better?

Updated: Jun 7, 2020

Beware... there will be spoilers ahead...

 

In this blog, I will be comparing the differences between the novel called Pride & Prejudice written by Jane Austen in 1813 and the movie adaption directed by British director Joe Wright. I will also be including some of the iconic scenes in the form of gifs.

There are many adaptions of Pride & Prejudice, the most notable one is the one released in 2005, starred by Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen. Other than that, there has also been a 1940 American adaption, an Italian television miniseries, and several British miniseries.


A quick introduction of the book:


Pride & Prejudice is a romantic novel that had been published anonymously in three volumes in 1813. It is centred on the chaotic relationship between Elizabeth Bennet, the daughter of a country gentleman and Fitzwilliam Darcy, a rich aristocratic landowner.




 

Here are the main characters of the novel/film:



 

What are the differences and similarities between the novel and the film?



Originally, the movie was going to be very true to the novel, from the dialogue and the perspective was going to be from Elizabeth’s but, in the end, the dialogue varied from the ones in the book and ones that are slightly altered (most scenes had this kind of dialogue). The reason behind this was to help the modern-day audience to connect even more with the movie and the characters (since the book was very much classic English literature). Mr Fitzwilliam Darcy also plays a role in the film, watchers are able to see scenes from his perspective, it helped to show him as more human, and the genuine friendship with Mr Bingley.


Mr Bennet also seems more loving towards his wife, and him spending money on unnecessary things which causes family misfortune is downplayed. The movie makes the main family much poorer than they are, compared to the book.


Other differences include the main character, Elizabeth Bennet. In the novel, she tends to keep things to herself and grows apart from her oldest sister, Jane. However, in the film, it is different. She does still get frustrated with family events, but she never keeps any secrets from them. Also confides in Jane after difficult events which contradict her relationship in the original story. Elizabeth is a bit more bold and impatient which is surprising as she never yells at her parents in the novel.


 

Iconic scenes from the film









 

My opinions


In my opinion, I personally enjoyed both the novel and the film. I think the film helped me visualise certain scenes I had been a bit confused on or how it helped with answering my question on how would they put this on the big screen. The film helps bring a few new things that weren't originally in the novel, which would give readers of the novel a nice surprise and a change (if they were looking for that). Obviously, the film isn't for everyone as some of the main traits of the novel have been changed but regardless, I think it's worth watching once before making a judgement.



Would I watch and read Pride and Prejudice again?


 

111 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 Comments


This is my favourite novel since I have took it I fell in love with the book and when ever I have the chance I watch it and read it and your way of expressing your thoughts emotions and everything made me sure that anyone who will read it will want to read or watch pride and prejudice if he/she didn't watch it and talking about reading I gonna read it again, thanks ❤❤❤❤

Like

Unknown member
Jun 07, 2020

I loved this so much! You've selected, unquestionably, some of the best quotes from the movie/book! It was extremely comprehensible and I love all of the gifs you've put in. We can always leave it up to the best graphics designer in class to make a post that truly feels like a blog.

Like

Angeline Ng
Angeline Ng
Jun 07, 2020

This is my favourite novel. BTW I think the best film version is the 1995 series.

Do check out -so much wit, humour , suspense and romance.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pride_and_Prejudice_(1995_TV_series)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-vhbPFaz0I

Like

Shazana Shajahan
Shazana Shajahan
Jun 07, 2020

Loving the GIFs! Creates the possibility that a classic can be super funny! Learned a lot more than I did than reading the book myself. Thank you! Keep it up! :)

Like

Unknown member
Jun 06, 2020

I absolutely love the visuals Lina! The article was overall very easy to follow up and I enjoyed reading it. The GIFS were captivating, it really helped me understand the characters better and be able to visualize the scenes in my head! Overall, well done! ( You never cease to amaze me on the design aspect :) )

Like
bottom of page