top of page

Cycle Break

Run and Hide. Find and Kill.


Run.

Hide.

Find.


KILL.


Every day the cycle repeats. Everyday claims a new victim in the world. Every day the night waits patiently to overcome the light and blemish what little light we are allowed.


What they were allowed before their souls drifted to the embers.


Life’s a game. It always is. And we always lose. No matter what choices we make, no matter how long we plan, no matter the help we’re so willingly given by friends, families, and strangers galore… it is never enough. It was never enough for my aunt. It was never enough for my uncle. It was never enough for my sister.


But in the deep ends of this planet, in a cave of jewels and gems, beneath the ivory tree of saints and demons, a forgotten stone of time, left in the dark, in the solitary surroundings of its kings and queens before, lies the answer.


A rune. A rune of a power so dynamic that the gods couldn’t even think to use it for their self-righteous needs. A rune so powerful, one could barter with Death himself.


Death has never set foot upon this world. He has only ever seen the glory of this world, blooming with life and misery, balancing on a tipping scale. He can only dream of coming. That dream could be fulfilled. If only someone were to make a connection and bargain something utterly irreplaceable.


Their soul.


My soul.


Yes. I took the leap. I set around the world and searched every nook and cranny until I found it. And I found it. With the training embedded in me by generations of my family line, I called out the ancient words, reaching deep within me to find the magic I needed.


He was all one would expect. A billowy cloak had hovered, clipped in the middle of his neck with a star shaped holder, wrapping the entirety of his body. He resembles that of a simple human, but eight feet tall and with brooding muscles. His face was obscured with a thick mask of pitch black. His piercing eyes shined yellow even in the shadows.


We came to an agreement: Death would break the cycle for the first time in a thousand years, and for the rest of time I was to be his lovely slave.


Fate could have deemed it so for me to have come upon him. Alone, I was a placid girl. Together, I was his slave. In the future…


I would be his Mistress.


His Mistress of Dread.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page