top of page

'I saw ten-thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken'



Excerpt from 'A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall'


I saw a highway of diamonds with nobody on it,

I saw a black branch with blood that kept drippin',

I saw a room full of men with their hammers a-bleedin',

I saw a white ladder all covered with water,

I saw ten thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken,

I saw guns and sharp swords in the hands of young children,

And it's a hard, it's a hard, it's a hard, and it's a hard,

It's a hard rain's a-gonna fall.


Who was Bob Dylan?


American singer-songwriter, author and visual artist. His biggest songs: Blowing In The Wind and the Times They Are A-Changin actually became civil rights anthem and were used for anti-war movements.


He also released 4 critically acclaimed albums of original material the most recent being Rough and Rowdy Ways in 2020. He has published eight books of drawings and paintings; now are hanging in major galleries and has received numerous awards for his profound effect on music in American culture.


In 2016 he was awarded a Nobel Prize in Literature 'for having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition'. This shocked quite a few literature purists who felt that it was undeserving.


Dylan did not even seem that interested by the recognition; he did not even show up at the reward ceremony; and sent a brief thank you. He eventually accepted the prize in a private ceremony in Stockholm.


Click on the link below to find out more.



115 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5件のコメント


Subikshaaccount gems
Subikshaaccount gems
2020年7月02日

An amazing piece of work! The beautiful art piece along with the descriptions make it very meaningful!

いいね!

Josh Sun
Josh Sun
2020年7月01日

Really well written biography and the art looks really great, throwback from two years ago when Mr. Reid made us choose a line from the poem and draw it

いいね!

不明なメンバー
2020年6月27日

I absolutely agree with Miss Jaz, it's an outstanding piece! Your art really connects with me.

いいね!

Luna Jazayeri
2020年6月24日

Your piece is so immersive: every time I see it on the blog, I find myself drawn in.

いいね!

Hammidah Majeed
Hammidah Majeed
2020年6月22日

as usual.. shazans writings never fails to amaze me..

いいね!
bottom of page