top of page

How did the malevolent seem so benevolent? - How to write a good speech according to history

Speeches! They’re great. The leaders of our world consistently present new and innovative ones to go down in history and be remembered forever in books, essays, and the minds of scholars.

However, I do have one question: “How do they do it, and can I do it too?”.

Throughout this extensive project, I had to analyse the speeches of iconic figures in history, to find the most recurring persuasive techniques that were used by them. Not only did I look at the speeches from history's 'good' leaders, but more importantly, I also had a look at history's 'evil' leaders.

Before long, I was able to pick out a few speeches that I wanted to analyse, which were diverse in multiple ways. I looked out for techniques in content, structure and body language where possible. If you want to have a look at my research document with specifics in quotes, themes, and citations, it can be found here.


Once I had collected by information, I wrote a speech to persuade the masses on quite an unorthodox topic. Before you take a look at my transcript of the speech, I heavily suggest that you scroll down a bit further and watch my whole video, beforehand.


Interested? All that's left for you to do is to sit back, relax and watch!

(The length of the video may seem daunting, but if you load it on Youtube, you'll be able to find that I've left time some stamps for your viewing pleasure.)


I hope you've enjoyed my efforts in research as well as video-making and that you've learned something from it!

85 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Nurul Adlina
Nurul Adlina
Jun 07, 2020

Of course, the speech writing legend himself :D The video is very pleasing to eyes and ears which makes it enjoyable to watch!! Good job brOOOO

Like

Angeline Ng
Angeline Ng
Jun 07, 2020

I am truly impressed by your intelligence and perceptiveness. You have identified many key rhetorical devices used in the speeches of some great and powerful men in history. The most amazing part is you are able to reenact and recreate your own version of speech using those devices in a totally new context. You deserve a standing ovation.

Like

Shazana Shajahan
Shazana Shajahan
Jun 07, 2020

Very funny, and gripping presentation of facts! Would totally watch again!

Like

Unknown member
Jun 06, 2020

That speech made me, well, SPEECHLESS! You've delivered originality, solid content and a very pleasing video all bundled in one package! I also liked how you applied your knowledge from history. Keep it up Keefer! (Man if only I could write as well as you!)

Like
bottom of page