top of page
  • Miko

Hollow

The sun was coming down quickly; there was not much time left. We both knew that they hunted in the nights, constantly using the shadows to hide their dull presence. I booked it down the stream, Riley following closely behind me.


“Ren!” Riley called out as my head whipped towards her direction. She pointed out a slim, black figure that stood still, its back slouching and its hands sharp as a spear. A Hollow, a big one.


I remember it like yesterday when they came. A peaceful geese-hunting trip with my dad, suddenly shot us down to the bottom of the food chain in seconds. Those hollow eyes stared at me, as if they were calling out, “Let me eat you!”


Those were the eyes my dad saw before he perished into the depths of its stomach, its colossal jaws, and fangs bit right through his head. I had no time to grieve for I knew that I’d be next if I didn’t whisk away quickly.


I still feel the guilt of leaving him behind, but I had to survive some way or other; my dad would’ve wanted us to leave this plague of monsters alive.


Its head creepily cranked towards our direction, sniffing the air as we dashed into the forest. We dove for the nearest bushes, being careful not to make a scratch otherwise we’d be a fresh meal.


Tip. Tap. Tip. Tap.


Closer and closer, the sound of the Hollow’s soft footsteps lingered near the bush we hid behind, tracing the scent of human meat. Even the slightest smell we gave off would make it attack us. Even though it couldn’t use its other senses, smell was its forte and you’d be at death’s doorstep if you had a stinky breath. No exaggeration needed to describe the fear of not taking a shower now.

We held our breath as it lingered closer, I cocked the shotgun just in case it came to ‘that’ situation.


Glowing eyes popped out from the bushes; low growls echoed through the darkness that

engulfed the forest.


Wolves.


To animals, the Hollows were invisible, but the Hollows could ‘see’ them. I prayed that the Hollow didn't have human meat cravings today. If Lady Luck is on our side today, then please choose the wolves over us, Hollow. ‘Today is really going to be the end of me,’ I thought to myself as I aimed the shotgun at the wolves, hoping that they wouldn’t pounce on us.


Riley was turning blue as the wait grew longer and longer, we needed to move. I turned Riley around as quietly as I could, trying not to attract the wolves, reaching into her backpack. I pulled out some matches and a large stick, handing them over to Riley. Switching on my fight or flight instincts, she scraped the matches on the cover and lit the stick.


As soon as Riley let her breath out, we ran as fast as we could, hearing a distant pounce on the bush we hid behind. Loud howls and pained whines followed the shaking bush, I could almost picture the crimson spilling. I shake the thought out of my head, redirecting my focus to escaping.


Just as soon as I thought that the wolves were done for, a familiar glare caught my eye as I put a protective hand in front of Riley. We were panting as the growls grew ever louder after

each second.


“Great. Just great,” I curse to myself, sighing. I forcefully grab the stick Riley was holding, as well as her hand, and ran deeper through the familiar territory. A pack of glowing eyes tailed behind us, I sped up as they did so too. They were aware of every movement I was taking; this is bad, really bad.


“We’re almost to the bunkers! Just a little bit more, Riley!” She nodded in response as I let go of her hand, noticing that she was keeping up. A familiar dark figure appeared in front of us as, just as we were about to reach our safe zone.


The wolves were advancing on us, the fire giving of our location to the Hollow. Seriously? Just a few more steps. I noticed Riley cautiously advance towards the Hollow. What is she thinking?


Her hand reached for the metal handle of the bunker’s door on the ground as the wolves’ growl grew noticeably louder. Riley yanked it open as soon as both pounced on us. She pulled me inside and jumped in, slamming the door shut. Cries and high-pitched whines echoed throughout the bunker as I let out a deep sigh of relief falling back on to my back. The Hollow should’ve told us that it wanted wolf meat beforehand.


Tonight was a close call, but that was round one.

84 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Unknown member
Jun 29, 2020

I loved your short story, the descriptions of your creature, ' the Hollow', are out of this world!! It gives me Ms Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children kind of vibes... I can't wait for round two !!

Like
bottom of page