top of page

Fly, Nightingale, Fly!

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

By Sophia Julianne

Most of my life, I have lived in a cage, shut off from the outside world. I have forgotten the smell of fresh air, the taste of scrumptious meals, the sight of lush forests, the feel of the cool wind...the sound of the animals, chittering here and there, sharing their wild stories, their laughter echoing loud, like drums.

Now, I only know torment and suffering and pain.


But no more.


Today, it all stops. Today, I will break free and live the life I want; a life where I enjoy the thrill of an adventure of a lifetime. Today, I stretch out my wings bigger than ever before, gathering the last of my strength, building up the courage that hid behind the walls, waiting for the moment when it can finally burst out. Today, I fly. Fly free, with no chains to bind me again.


Chapter One


Getting out... wasn't easy. First, I had to reach the pure, golden keys that lay near my small, silver cage. The outer layer of my enclosure had bars on them, leaving spaces between each one.


It was big enough for a miniscule critter, like a baby mouse, to go through but small enough to prevent big and beautiful birds like me to wander out. Stretching my legs was quite a pain, aching greatly, and took me a couple tries, say maybe seven or more, until I grabbed the object necessary for my ultimate release.

Opening the cage from the outside was easier.


Now, I stood, surveying my surroundings. Not that they were any good.


The walls were made of gloomy, grey stone covered with dust and scratches. The bulb above me flickered quickly and the freezing wind that was coming in through the rectangular, cracked windows brushed at my feathers, keeping me on edge.


It was early morning and the thin streaks of sunlight were entering the room, white and blinding. I stayed in position for a few more minutes, exercising my wings to get the blood circulating properly. I hovered a few centimeters off the ground, subtly flapping and then I flew up to one of the windows.


Landing softly on the ledge, I stretched my right leg and with a bit of effort, brought the rusty, locked handle down. I winced at the screeching sound it made, like a hyena's crazed howl, ready to jump on their prey. Once it was fully down, I pushed forward and the window opened with a squeaky creak. I dropped swiftly through the space and before I hit the hard ground outside, I unfurled my wings to the sides, made a curved shape like that object the humans called an 'umbrella', and I felt the force of the wind as it pushed me up into the sky.


I sighed with pleasure. I was out. Out on the loose. Free to roam like all birds should.



67 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Leena Dany
Leena Dany
Nov 15, 2021

Amazing story! Looking forward to chpater 2. 😊

Like

Wonderful story with Good descriptions! Can't wait for a chapter 2. :)

Like
bottom of page