top of page

DUNE by Frank Herbert


“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”


Though published in 1965, it is one of the best books I have ever read. The start of the book might be slow, but over time it only gets better and more action-packed. To put it in an over-simplified manner, the story involves a boy named Paul Atreides, belonging to House Atreides and son of Leto Atreides, who is able to read parts of the future through consuming a spice called melange. However, House Harkonnen, which is House Atreides’ enemy, has killed Paul’s father, the ruling Duke of House Atreides, and Paul has to find somehow a way to reclaim his rightful throne of the ruling Duke of House Atreides. The only reason I do not give it a full rating as some concepts within the book are quite hard to understand for me in Year 10. But putting that aside, I would highly recommend it to anyone (even a baby).


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page